There is no excuse for
drunk driving, but if you or somebody you care about does end up in handcuffs, you’re
going to need serious help as soon as possible. As with any criminal charge,
a person charged with a
DWI in Texas is presumed innocent until proven guilty. If a DWI defendant
is found guilty, the severity of the conviction will depend on a number
of circumstances: Was an open bottle found in the car? Was anybody injured
or killed by the defendant? Was this the first time the defendant was
convicted of a DWI?
Legal Consequences: First-Offense DWI in Texas
Even if your arrest circumstances are mostly favorable — there was
no liquor in the car, nobody was injured, this was a first-time offense
— even then, you’ll need serious legal assistance as soon
as possible. Texas takes drunken driving very seriously, even for the
- Texas Criminal Record: Class B Misdemeanor.
- Texas Jail Time: At least 3 days, but up to 180 days.
- Texas License Suspension: Up to 1 year.
- Texas DWI Fines: Up to $2000 for regular fines. Up to $2000/year for 3
years in additional surcharges.
- Texas Community Service: At least 24 hours, but up to 100 hours.
Probation: Terms of
probation decided by court judge or jury.
- Texas DWI School: Required completion of a DWI Alcohol Education Program
or a DWI Alcohol Intervention Program within 180 days of probation.
Severe Consequences: A DWI Changes Your Life
While the legal penalties for a DWI conviction are serious enough, there
may be other consequences that may be even more damaging to your everyday
life for years to come.A drunk driving conviction is forever, and even
a drunk driving charge will remain on a person’s driving record
for many years.
Car insurance and health insurance companies may cancel your policy or
seriously increase the rates. You may be unable to rent a vehicle and
be refused employment at places that involve the use of a company vehicle.
You could lose your current job or be denied admissions to universities
and face other difficulties in the face of future background checks. On
top of the hit to your credit score and the thousands of dollars spent
on bail money, fines, fees, and insurance costs, you may have to face
a difficult civil lawsuit if any accident victims sue you for their injuries
It goes without saying, you’d be seriously mistaken if you think
that a drunk driving charge is not much to worry about. A single DWI conviction
in Texas can devastate your professional life and social life, so it’s
extremely important to
immediately consult with a DWI defense lawyer who can explain the options available to you.
If you are facing a DWI charge in Texas, just reach out to the highly experienced Texas
DWI defense attorneys at The Kyle Law Firm for a completely free, no obligations consultation
on any DWI/DUI related case.
Contact us online or call us toll-free at 1-877-316-1373 to schedule your
free DWI consultation today and let us help you protect your professional
and social future tomorrow.