First-Offense DWI Charges in Texas
Contact a New Braunfels DWI Lawyer
A charge of
driving while intoxicated (DWI) is oftentimes a person’s first and only run-in with the law. The
experience of being placed in handcuffs, brought down to the station,
and spending the night in jail can be extremely frightening, not to mention
the anxiety of possibly serving criminal consequences looming over one’s
head. If you have been arrested for a first-time DWI, it is urgent you
retain the services of a powerful legal team at once to protect your future
and reputation. At Kyle Law Firm, our New Braunfels DWI attorneys have
defended numerous clients against a variety of drunk driving charges and
can provide the powerful defense you need during this difficult time.
Countless clients have trusted our firm for the following reasons:
- More than 60 years of combined experience
Texas Super Lawyers® selection
- 10.0 Superb Avvo Rating (Attorney Matthew Kyle)
- Board Certified by the Texas Legal Board of Specialization
Call (830) 476-7780 or
schedule a free consultation today to discuss your situation in further detail.
Penalties for First-Offense DWI in Texas
While many people believe that they can drive a vehicle as long as their
blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is under the legal limit of 0.08%, a
person with a legally-compliant BAC can still be charged with DWI if an
officer believes they are displaying signs of intoxication. Texas has
some of the harshest consequences for drunk driving offenses in the United
States, imposing harsh fines and jail time for even first-time DWI offenders.
Unlike other states, Texas does not allow individuals accused of DWI to
seek a reduction of their charges to a less-serious “wet reckless” charge.
A conviction of first-offense DWI can bring the following consequences:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Driver’s license suspension up to 365 days
- Increased car insurance rates
These penalties can increase in the event that an intoxicated driver should
cause an accident that results in injury or death to another person. Other
aggravating factors include refusing a chemical test or being arrested
for DUI with a minor under age 15 in the vehicle. Regardless of the circumstances,
any first-time DWI is a serious offense and must be handled by an experienced
attorney to maximize one’s chances of securing a favorable outcome
for their situation.
Your Future May Be at Stake
If you are facing first-time DWI charges, our DWI lawyers are prepared
to fight to protect your right to drive and pursue every available opportunity
to secure a dismissal of your charges. Upon a detailed examination of
your case, we can craft a custom-tailored strategy that counters the opposition’s
claims and ensures your rights are defended every step of the way. Protecting
your wellbeing is of utmost importance, and we are dedicated to ensuring
no stone is left unturned in the defense of your freedom.
We proudly defend clients throughout New Braunfels, Seguin, and San Marcos.
Get in touch with our office online today to get started towards retaining the defense you deserve.