After getting pulled over for drinking and driving in Texas, you might receive a DWI or DUI. There is a big difference between these two charges, and it’s important to know about them, so you can protect your rights.
What is a DWI?
DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. You might have received a DWI in Texas if you were over 21 years old with a blood alcohol level above .08. If you are charged with a DWI in Texas, it’s usually prosecuted as a criminal offense.
You might spend at least 72 hours in jail on a first DWI offense. If you had an open container in your vehicle when you were stopped, the minimum jail sentence is six days. On a second offense, you can go to jail for 30 days to a year. For a third offense, your jail sentence could be from 2 to 10 years.
What is a DUI?
DUI means driving under the influence. Since Texas has zero-tolerance laws for those below the legal drinking age, you can get a DUI if you are under 21 years old, and were drinking and driving, even if you weren’t intoxicated.
In Texas, for a DUI charge you will not receive jail time. Your license will usually be suspended for 60 days for the first offense, 90 days for the second offense, and 180 days for the third offense. You might also have to pay a $500 fine.
If you were charged with a DWI in Texas, you need the help of an experienced Texas DWI attorney to defend your rights. Contact the Kyle Law Firm today and set-up your free, no-obligation consultation.