Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is extremely dangerous for you and everyone around you. Serious injury and death are always a risk when driving under the influence and it is extremely illegal. DWI charges are taken very seriously and the results of receiving a DWI charge can change lives forever. Though the consequences are heavy, a DWI charge is not the end of the world. Steps can be taken to help get your life back on track. It is best to educate yourself on what a DWI charge is, what the consequences are, and what you should do afterwards.
WHAT IS “DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED “
The legal definition of “Driving While Intoxicated” in Texas is, having an alcohol concentration of .08 while operating a vehicle.
However, under certain circumstances, the driver can be charged with a DWI if they have an alcohol concentration below .08. It depends on the situation.
COST OF A DWI
A DWI charge can be be expensive, and it is best to prepare yourself for heavy fines after being charged. Each state has different fines for a DWI, so it is best to educate yourself on what the usual fines are for each state. In Texas, fines for a DWI charge range from around $9,000 to $11,500 for a first offense. The more DWI’s you get, the higher the fines will be. Also, if a child is present in the car or someone is seriously injured or dies, the fines are extremely high. Jail time can also come from a DWI charge. License revoking is common in DWI cases. A license can be revoked for 90 days up to a year, depending on the situation.
TYPE OF CHARGE
The type of DWI charge that you are given can vary due to what situation you were in at the time, and the number of past offenses. Your first DWI in Texas is considered to be a Class-B misdemeanor. This is only so if there was not a child present in the car at the time of your DWI. If you get a second DWI charge, it is considered to be a Class-A misdemeanor. Again, this is only if there is not a child present in the car at the time of the DWI. If you receive a third DWI charge, it is a felony. If a child is in the car at the time of your DWI, no matter how many offenses you have had previously, it is a felony. DWIs are serious enough, but endangering the life of a child in doing so is a more serious charge.
STEPS THAT SHOULD BE TAKEN AFTER A DUI
1. Seek legal counsel immediately. Most people do not know the laws and consequences that are associated with a DWI charge. An experienced attorney can give you advice and may be able to help you.
2. Go to Court. If you do not go to Court, your situation will only get worse.
3. Carry out the punishment you are given, in full. You must pay all fines, attend any driving classes that are necessary and your license may be revoked.
4. Get the right insurance. Most insurance companies will drop a person after a DWI charge, therefore you have to take certain steps in getting the right kind of insurance and you must carry it around with you.
5. Get your license back. After you have carried out your punishment, after Court, and have the right insurance, you are ready to make moves to get your license back. However, there may be restrictions placed on your license.
DWI charges are extremely serious and can have a large impact on someones life. However, they are not the end of the world. If you are looking for legal counsel about DWI charges in the San Marcos area, contact Kyle Law Firm today.