As a Texas resident facing a possible conviction for driving under the influence, you may have concerns about how you might get to work, pay your fines and otherwise grapple with the potential repercussions associated with the act. While these matters are certainly worth considering, many people facing DUI or DWI charges forget that they may also face consequences for their actions that come from outside the justice system, such as those brought on by insurance providers.
In fact, Insure.com reports that you will almost undoubtedly experience a hike in your insurance rates, should you receive a conviction for DUI or DWI, and it can be difficult to manage the difference on top of fines and related expenditures. So, just how much can you anticipate your auto insurance rates climbing following a conviction for drinking and driving?
Without having a DUI or DWI on his or her record, the typical resident of Texas will pay about $1,644 for auto insurance coverage every year. After a first conviction, however, this figure climbs nearly 60 percent to $2,619, which is a difference of $975 each year. While the increased cost of insurance alone is staggering, it can prove even more difficult to afford if you are also financing, say, an ignition interlock device, which you may also need in the wake of such a conviction.
While a sharp increase in your auto insurance rates can prove troubling, some insurers may decide not to offer you insurance coverage at all once you have a DUI or DWI. This can make it exponentially more difficult to garner coverage from any provider because potential insurers will see that you not only have a DUI or DWI on your record, but that other insurers opted not to extend you coverage at all.
This information about auto insurance hikes after a DUI or DWI is educational in nature and is not a substitute for legal advice.