Texas Targets Students For Drunk Driving
In Texas, police often home in on college campuses — and even some high school campuses — for drunk driving busts. This is because they are easy targets. Statistics show that drivers are unusually likely to drive drunk after college football games, college basketball games, and similar events. Likewise, in a more general sense, police know that campus nightlife — with its bars, parties, and concerts — provides ample opportunities for inebriated individuals to get behind the wheel.
Yet, for students, the penalties associated with drunk driving can be even more severe than for the common population. In addition to court fees and jail time, students stand to lose federal loans and scholarships and may face other forms of academic punishment. As such, it is crucial for students charged with DUI or DWI to seek legal help.
Ready to Talk?
At Kyle Law Firm, our clients are like family.
We promise aggressive representation as your personal advocates and guides through the legal system
A History Of Defending Students Against DUI/DWI Charges
With more than 60 years of combined experience, the attorneys at Kyle Law Firm have earned a reputation for helping college and high school students avoid the worst consequences of DUI and DWI offenses. Our lawyers know how to investigate every aspect of a drunk driving case; if authorities or prosecutors have made a mistake at any step — which happens often — we will find it and leverage it to our clients’ advantage. We are skilled at reducing the penalties our clients face, and whenever possible will seek to have the charges dismissed entirely.
Simply put, we understand what’s at stake in such cases. A drunk driving charge can jeopardize a student’s academic standing. The establishment of a criminal record can curtail one’s career options. This is why we have made it our mission to protect our clients’ rights and assert their interests before the law.
DUI Vs. DWI
The penalties for underage drivers and adult drivers are, for all intents and purposes, equally severe. The main difference is that underage drivers (those under 21 years old) can be arrested if they have any alcohol in their system at all, whereas adult drivers can be charged only if their blood alcohol content is above .08 percent.
Yet in both scenarios, even first-time offenders face penalties of thousands of dollars and up to six months in jail. The consequences for repeat offenders are more severe.
To learn more, or to speak with a lawyer, reach out to our firm. You can call us at 830-620-9402 or reach us online. Initial consultations are always free.